Skip to content

Olympic and Paralympic Games Legacy Committee

26 July 2022

Twelve Queenslanders have been appointed to the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games Legacy Committee to ensure the whole state benefits in the decades after the Games.

The committee members will be a voice for their local communities, schools and workplaces in imagining how the Games can maximise the economic, social and cultural benefits for Queensland and leave a positive legacy in transforming the state.

There are seven women on the Legacy Committee including First Nations leader Georgina Richters who was named as the Deputy Chair, inclusion advocate Diaswati Mardiasmo, 17-year-old Normanton youth representative Imogen Ruyg, event professional Ingrid Proud, sports researcher Danya Hodgetts, circular economy expert Ashleigh Morris and author Sharon Boyce.

Other committee members include Quandamooka traditional owner Cameron Costello, company director Wayne Gerard, inclusive sport advocate Cameron Pegg, student representative Siwei Zhu and businessman John Wagner.

The Committee hails from all walks of life including four members from regional Queensland, two Indigenous representatives and one person who identifies as living with a disability.

They will seek the views of other Queenslanders on the key priorities that will shape a Brisbane 2032 legacy plan to help guide future planning for the state.

The committee will meet up to four times per year with members appointed for 12-month terms that can be renewed.